Caramelized Shallot Dressing

Last Friday in Yoga class, as we were settling down for savasana, my teacher said, “Remember you are the result of the love of thousands.” What a wonderful reality, no matter what your circumstances may be, good or bad, the truth of the matter is long down the line love created your unique DNA patterns. Speaking of my upbringing and a long line of my ancestors, we all had a special place in our heart for the sweet vidalia. An onion that loved our sulphur rich soil.

Growing up, I loved the Vidalia so much that at the age of ten, I won the top prize, attending 4H camp for free, by selling the most bags of onions statewide. One of the best ways to use the uniquely sweet onion is to make it into a sauce that can be used as a dressing or smeared on a sandwich or even used as a great dipping sauce. Unfortunately, I no longer have access to the yummy vidalia, but if my family taught me anything, they taught me  how to “make do.”  Using local shallots, I caramelize them to bring out their sweetness.  It curbed my nostalgic craving and all was good in the world again. I leave you with one of my favorite quotes of all time:

“I was born from people who were born from people who were born from people who were born here. The memory of what they entered is scrawled on my bones, so that I carry the landscape inside like an ache.” Janisse Ray Ecology of a Cracker Childhood

Caramelized Shallot Dressing

Summer Salad with Caramelized Shallot Dressing
Summer Salad with Caramelized Shallot Dressing

  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • 2 TBSP olive  oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 TBSP honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • 1/8 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
In a small saute pan, carmelize shallots over medium low heat. About 5-7 minutes. Let shallots cool completely. Combine the shallots and garlic in the container of a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth. Add the honey, mustard, lemon juice, vinegar and mayonnaise; puree until blended in. Set to low speed and pour in the canola oil in a thin stream. Chill and serve with fresh salad greens.
16 thoughts on “Caramelized Shallot Dressing

  1. Love shallots in dressing …. so this I will mix a bottle of – but I will cut out the mayonnaise. Great photo of a very summery salad, but don’t ask me where the summer has gone – it’s not here. Maybe it been and gone during those 14 days in May.

    1. Yes, the mayo is there to help make it a little creamier, but can easily be forgone. Too bad about the summertime leaving for a few. Hopefully it will be back soon, so we can get some pretty pics of your travels.

  2. We love onions in this house and frequently use them or shallots. How long would this yummy dressing keep in the fridge?

    1. I keep a rule of thumb of five days only with most any dressing I make. This only makes enough for 4-6 salads anyway. One exception is my avacado dressing, because avocado is extremely unstable, it only lasts like two days.

    1. Thanks. Yeah, I don’t think my parents would allow me to sell cookies. I once had to sell chocolate candy bars and my brother, my mom and I ate all of them in secret. My Dad was pretty done with us when we owed money for entire boxes of those expensive candy bars.

  3. It’s Vidalia season here! I am so sorry you can’t get them where you are! I will be making this. Ohhhh yessss. And because I have to do yoga in my living room, sans a clever and inspirational instructor, your new job is to please post more happy phrases like this one :)

Leave a Reply

