Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Cubes

Most of the time, I don’t use spice blends, opting instead to make my own, but we received a free spice blend called Arizona Dreaming with one of our orders to my favorite spice store. I will stop here and let you all know, I do not get paid by or receive any gifts from the company that produces this spice blend. Not that I would be opposed to it, I love their spices and would be honored to represent them, but I don’t.

With that said, Arizona Dreaming  is absolutely delicious and one of the few blends that I have specifically sought after. Another reason why I love it, it is salt free.  If you are watching your salt intake, you know it is hard to find spice blends without lots of salt in them.

Anyway, I used it to make some spicy baked sweet potatoes, which really enhanced the earthy flavors of the sweet potato fingerlings that I got in my Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) box this week. Enjoy!

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Cubes

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Cubes
Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Cubes

2 TBSP olive oil

5-7 fingerling sweet potatoes, rinsed and cut into one inch cubes

1 Tbsp penzey’s Arizona Dreaming

1/2 teaspoon cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Mix together sweet potatoes and the rest of the ingredients. Bake on a sheet pan for 20 minutes. Remove and enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Cubes

  1. Like sweet potato a lot, but it’s a while since I bought … next time I buy some – there is loads a of great mixes out there of spices – never harm to try and nothing wrong with liking them neither. Thanks for this.

    1. Thanks. Yes, I agree there are some great mixes out there, but I literally have a spice problem. Like an addiction, but only with spices. My cupboard is packed full and I try to negotiate the problem by making my own blends out of it. Kinda like, see I really did need this rare spice just for this great application…

  2. What do you think is in this spice blend? I’m asking because I’m pretty positive I won’t find it, I have two obnoxiously large sweet potatoes that will take two days to bake if I don’t cut them up, and your sweet potatoes look so good right now. Dang I’m hungry.

    1. The back of the bottle says spices, ground ancho, onion, garlic, paprika, citric acid, lemon peel, chipotle pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, cocoa, natural smoke flavoring. I detect cumin and I can see crushed bay leaves or oregano in there. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

