Chicken Lo Mein

There was a time in my life when I couldn’t wait until ramen noodles were no longer in my pantry, a rite of passage sort of feeling. As if it were one of those predictors on a spreadsheet that indicated that somehow I had arrived into my own, into a life that is better than, other than; that I had parked my behind in that glorious lawn chair and was sipping my mint julep on that green grass on the other side.

Ahh, but what a little grasshopper I was! Things definitely got more complicated as an adult and with adulthood came responsibilities. The simple sack of ramen began to represent the memory of an easier, less complicated life. Now, I keep it in my pantry as a good luck omen and broke some out this week to make an Lo Mein dinner. Enjoy!

Chicken Lo Mein

Chicken Lo Mein
Chicken Lo Mein

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, fully cooked and cut into thin strips
  • 1 TBSP white sugar
  • 2 TBSP rice wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce, divided
  • 1 1/4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 TBSP sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 TBSP cornstarch
  • 2-3 Packages Ramen Noodles (according to how large your family is)
  • 2 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 2 TBSP minced fresh ginger root
  • 1 TBSP minced garlic
  • 2 stems of bok choy, diced
  • 6 green onions, sliced diagonally into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 1 red pepper diced
  • 1 carrot diced
  • Sriracha sauce

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the chicken broth, water, sesame oil and ground black pepper with the sugar, vinegar and soy sauce. In a separate small bowl, dissolve the cornstarch with some of this mixture and slowly add to the bulk of the mixture, stirring well. Set aside.
  2. Cook the Ramen noodles according to package directions, drain and set aside. Heat 1 tablespoon of the vegetable oil in a wok or large saucepan over high heat until it starts to smoke.
  3. Add the ginger, garlic, celery, red peppers, carrot, bok choy and green onions, and stir-fry for 2-3 minutes. Add the reserved sauce mixture and then the chicken. Simmer until the sauce begins to thicken, about 2 minutes. Add the reserved noodles and toss gently, coating everything well with the sauce. Add sriracha at the end if you want a spicy kick.
21 thoughts on “Chicken Lo Mein

  1. The memory of the $0.10 dinner of Ramen! I actually love them, along with Cup O’Noodles, but haven’t enjoyed a bowl in years… Maybe I’ll have to pick some up to try this one. The grown-up version. :)

  2. Van feel the smell over here – looks good and reads good. Thanks for this one. Did the Asian Green Bean Salad yesterday – very tasty – post will come tomorrow.

  3. If only my daughter could understand these words. At barely 14, she is already pounding on the door of adulthood with the allure of “choosing” to do what she wants when she wants. Memories eh?
    These ramen noodles are classed up quite nicely.

    1. Yeah I was about that age when these sorts of crazy thoughts were swirling around my head, but in its own way, it is a good sign; you raised an independent girl who will grow up to be an independent woman.

  4. My kids love it when I sub ramen noodles for other pasta or rice — especially with stir fry. I think I could persuade my little guy to eat just about anything if I paired it with ramen. Love this recipe :)

  5. A few modifications are necessary in our household due to corn allergy yet this recipe is one that I can use…will be doing the ping back when I post for certain…with the changes…ty for the recipe…happy cooking.

Leave a Reply

