Sauteed Cauliflower

I have had the best time with my Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) box that I received this week. Another item inside my box was a large, perfectly white head of cauliflower. If there are any vegetables that I remember loving them enough to eat raw as a child, it was broccoli and cauliflower.

As I have gotten older, I enjoy my cauliflower cooked over it being raw. Sauteing slightly steamed cauliflower in olive oil and garlic and kicking it up with a little spice makes my taste buds happy! Enjoy.

Sauteed Cauliflower

Sauteed Cauliflower
Sauteed Cauliflower

1 head cauliflower, about 2 cups florets

2 tablespoons olive oil

4 garlic cloves, smashed or coarsely chopped

1 dried red chile seeds removed or crumbled into 1/4 teaspoon flakes

Kosher salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup finely chopped parsley

Cut cauliflower into florets and steam until tender but not mushy.

In a large saute pan, heat the oil on medium-high and add the garlic. Saute until the garlic is lightly golden.

Add in the red chile flakes and cauliflower to pan, and with the back of a spoon or heavy spatula, break the cauliflower into small pieces, while stirring to coat with the garlic and olive oil. Season to taste with salt and pepper and set aside.

Turn heat to medium on the cauliflower and add 1/2 cup of water, and stir over heat until the mixture begins to emulsify.

Remove the pan from the heat. Mix thoroughly to incorporate.

Add the parsley and mix until the cauliflower is well coated.

Serves 4-6

22 thoughts on “Sauteed Cauliflower

  1. Mmmmmm… cauliflower… :)

    (I eat it raw too, and have to stop myself nibbling when I’m dry-brining the stuff for piccalilli!)

  2. Love raw cauliflower, but not a big fan of cooked – but I eat it if served and sometimes I even buy myself. This looks and reads great … that i will try next week with some left over smoked pork tenderloin. So I put it on file. Looking forward to try this.

  3. Passing this recipe along to my fiancee, who claims to enjoy cauliflower, but never seems to buy or prepare it! I have some heads ready to harvest in my urban garden. Thanks for the impetus for a harvest!

    1. Thank you and you are welcome. Cauliflower is a forgotten veggie. In the supermarkets, a lot of times they have dark marks all over the tops of them already and really just don’t look that appetizing. Coming fresh from your own garden will be wonderful though.

  4. I want to Thank You for “Liking” my post on “Edible Flowers” because through you liking my post, I found your blog, and I want to tell you I love it, love ALL of your recipes! I am now following your blog, and want to spend much more time on it looking at the great recipes! Tried as I might to find one favorite recipe,, I just could not, they all look great! Great Job!!

      1. Thanks for the kind comment, on the baskets and chair caning, your recipes are great, as I scrolled down the list I just could not find one that I did not want to try!

Leave a Reply

