Spicy Shrimp and Grits

Yeah, I know, shrimp and grits has been done every which a way from here to Friday. You might even say, it’s played out, overdone, too, well… expected.

When I moved to the Middle of the United States, I experienced crazy weather– negative degree temperatures, blizzards, tornadoes, floods, etc…. Everyday, I would cringe in anticipation of our weather radio siren going off. Some days, I wondered if these were clues telling me that I made a grave mistake and I should pack up my items and move back home.

Back home to the safety of knowing what to expect from all the people, places, things and FOOD of my former life. Being landlocked in the Midwest, I just didn’t eat seafood. I tried a few times, but it always had a slightly off flavor.

Now, I am not back “home”, but I am near an ocean again and I will eat my shrimp and grits and not think of it as contrived. Instead, I am experiencing the new surroundings, with the comforts of flavorful memories and that makes it interesting and fresh  for this wandering soul.

Spicy Shrimp and Grits

Spicy Shrimp and Grits
Spicy Shrimp and Grits

10 large shrimp

1 clove garlic, minced

1 TBSP Cajun Seasoning

1 TBSP Old Bay

1 tsp Cayenne

Lemon Juice

1 TBSP Hot sauce

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 TBSP flour

1 TBSP butter

1 cup stock

Salt and pepper to taste

2 servings of Grits with 1 cup of parmesan mixed in.

Place a deep skillet over medium heat and coat with the olive oil and add butter. Sprinkle in the flour and stir with a wooden spoon to create a roux. Slowly pour in the chicken stock and continue to stir to avoid lumps.  When the liquid comes to a simmer, add the shrimp. Poach the shrimp in the stock for 2 to 3 minutes, until they are firm and pink and the gravy is smooth and thick.  Add the garlic, cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning, Old Bay, hot sauce, Worcestershire and lemon juice. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon the grits into a serving bowl. Add the shrimp mixture and mix well. Serve immediately.

31 thoughts on “Spicy Shrimp and Grits

  1. Yes I lived in California forever (LOVE Cali) but the first time I had shrimp once back in Louisiana (Don’t Love) I could believe it. Shrimp away from the Gulf loses its shrimp flavor. LOL

  2. I’m heading to Charleston myself this summer and shrimp and grits is holding a priority position on my list of things to eat. I LOVE grits. Just recently realized I could make do with really creamy polenta for grits in Hamburg. Love ’em.

    1. I believe that the restaurant that my Husband and I ate at for our honeymoon was called The library, we enjoyed it. The other restaurant that I heard had really good grits was Hominy Grill. Another great restaurant, but totally not southern food, is called The Basil. It is Thai food and we loved it. Of course there is FIG also, which will be a no brainer good meal.

  3. I’m a Southern gal who loves her shrimp and grits. I do think they’re overdone in the sense that every restaurant around here seems to think they should have them on the menu, and they’re not always good. But when they’re prepared well, they’re amazing, and I don’t really care who says they’re played out. I like ’em anyway.

Leave a comment