Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

Zucchini season is here and one of the items that I love to make annually is zucchini bread. Because my husband is a chocolate lover, I throw some chocolate chips in the batter for good measure. Out of love, I use the mini chocolate chips so that he can get the taste of chocolate spread evenly through out every bite. If you need a great way to use up zucchini this season, this is a great idea for not only a family treat, but bake sales and gifts for neighbors. Also, after the bread has baked, it freezes well, so you can always have a nice sweet treat ready to go for any pop over guests. Enjoy everyone!

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

(2 loaves)

3 cups flour

2 cups sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp baking powder

2-3 cups grated zucchini

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs

1 cup oil

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl. Pour into two greased loaf pans. Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

19 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

  1. Yum! I made my first ever chocolate chip zucchini bread last year (all previous zuc bread was plain or had raisins).

    1. I love plain and raisins too. I have actually thought about subbing out carrots with zucchini in a carrot cake recipe, just to see if it work, but i am not sure since zucchini has more water content. It would probably need to be tweeked a little, but add cream cheese frosting and I am pretty much ready for anything.

  2. I bet zucchini cake would work out just fine :) I’m with you on the cream cheese frosting! This looks sooooo good. I have a ton of squash, but no one has given me zucchini just yet. Crossing my fingers.

    1. Believe me, they’ll be giving it away for nothing in a few weeks. They were about medium size at the market this week, so i’d say about two more weeks and I’m golden!

  3. I’m not growing any zucchini this year, but would love to try this. We have a zucchini chocolate chip cookie recipe that goes down well with our boys, and I bet they’d love this too.

      1. Do the choc chips stay hard..looking for a zucchini bread or cake that the chips stay hard, and don’t melt away…

      2. I have provided a cross section picture of a slice of the Zucchini Bread so you can see how the chips are distributed. Your best bet with trying to have harder chips is to use larger chocolate chunks. If this isn’t hard enough, then I would try Cocoa Nibs. That will definitely stay hard and give you the flavor of chocolate.

Leave a Reply

