Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

Image

A fresh veggie salad with all the fixings and drizzled with smoked paprika vinaigrette.

I have been really enjoying all the fresh fruits and vegetables that summer is providing here and it has inspired me to branch out and try some new salad dressings. One that I came across was a smoked paprika vinaigrette.

I love smoked paprika and have the spice in my pantry, but I must admit it does collect a little dust as I don’t use it as much as I should. So of course when I saw this recipe I was intrigued. It was smoky and delicious and it sort of hinted at having bacon crumbled on the salad without the crunch, but that’s what you have croutons for, right?

I do have some good news on this front and since I am trying to turn over a new leaf to celebrate and recognize the good things and not internalize everything, I wanted to announce it.

As many of you know, I have started a journey of reducing stress in my life. This has been a very slow going process for me, but we did have a triumph this week. Normally, talking to my family causes a great deal of stress for me.

In my old world, my family would bring me their problems and I felt like I had to fix the problem or them as people. Now that I have been focusing on myself more and trying to learn how to detach myself from reacting to their behavior or situation and remaining happy and peaceful through whatever storm may be happening in their lives, I have been able to be more relaxed and not sucked into the drama which would normally steer the conversations into downward spirals and resulting with me getting off the phone completely drained and sad and/or angry. In essence, I am letting be what will be.

The good news, I received three different telephone calls from different family members this week and was able to get through them without gritting my teeth or my stomach hurting or feeling mentally taxed. It felt good. I am hopeful today and I know I still have such a long journey, but I am happy to get to this place and recognize what a big deal it is for me.

13 thoughts on “Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

  1. Smoked paprika is a spice I think I tend to overuse–once I discovered it, I started putting it in everything!

    I’m a bit of a fixer myself, so I understand what you mean about your family. When my little brother moved in with me back in college, it was hard for me not to mother, lecture, or otherwise try to tame him. But you can’t fix everything–and it sounds like you’re on your way to getting better at letting go a little bit. Small steps and deep breaths. :)

  2. So glad you are feeling better about the situation :) I’m sure it must be such a relief to just let it all go. Do you think the distance helps or makes it worse? Your salads always look refreshing and delicious… and I have spied your cute little carafe in the background. I want it.

    1. Thank you. I am not quite sure where I got the carafe. Possibly target. In some ways it is a relief to let it go, but there is anxiety involved too. I moved away from home about 15 years ago and it has taken that long to get to a place where I stopped giving advice or trying to fix everything and everyone from afar. My experience was that I left and things got better for me, so I wanted to share my “sage” advice with my family, because I wanted them to come up the same ladder. It has taken growing into a new level of maturity to understand that having an opinion of a person or situation or direction actually makes you a stakeholder in the future of whatever it may be, whether you want to be one or not. Some people don’t want to move off the rung of the ladder that they are on, even if I believe they are unhappy and I have learned that it is not my job to make them move. Since I can’t control anyone but myself, I think it has helped me to live further away, because it has hindered my ability to become an active participant in all the minutia of things that I shouldn’t have any responsibility for. I have to trust that though it may get hard for people that I love, they will find a way to work things out and move on.

  3. Thanks for liking my blog. I’m glad I visited yours, as your recipes sound delicious. My paprika jar is also gathering dust, so I fancy trying this dressing. Good luck with your new approach to your family life.

  4. Be the witness… Some people find comfort in their unhappiness. It’s familiar and easier to stay there than move out of it and be uncomfortable and confused. Serious kudos to you for pulling away from the dust storm. Sometimes there is a geographical cure.
    That’s a good looking salad :-)

    1. THank you. Yes, geographical cure is a great way to put it. It’s hard to not jump in the middle of everything, but it is not as hard as yesterday or the day before and it leaves me open to manage things that always felt too overwhelming (considering everything else I was dealing with).

Leave a Reply

