Hot and Spicy Cheese Crackers

My husband and I are true snackers. About once a month, we forgo a traditional meal, for a bag of chips or crackers and a candy bar. I know, not real nutritious, but comforting nonetheless.

Last night, we, as could be expected, really enjoyed surfing all of our new channels and finished off a box of Cheez-Its. My Hubbie looked so sad when he pulled the last cracker out of the box. As a true gentleman, he offered it to me, but I declined.

Instead, this afternoon I whipped up a batch of homemade hot and spicy cheese crackers to surprise him with when he got home from work. I wish you guys could have seen his face when he saw them. Glowing and then he tried them and remarked at how much cheesier the homemade version tasted. Enjoy!

Hot and Spicy Cheese Crackers

Hot and Spicy Cheese Crackers
Hot and Spicy Cheese Crackers

4 oz of sharp cheddar, grated

4 oz Parmesan cheese, grated

1 cup of flour

3/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon of paprika

1/4 teaspoon ground mustard

2 tablespoons of hot sauce

Pulse everything except the hot sauce together until it resembles a crumbly mixture.

Slowly add hot sauce until a ball of dough forms. Remove that ball of dough and divide it in half.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Roll the dough out on a lightly flour dusted surface. Use a knife or pizza cutter to slice into squares.  Use the flat end of a toothpick or skewer  to poke a hole in the center of each cracker.Line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment and transfer the sliced cracker dough. They can be pretty close together because they don’t really expand. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until they are slightly golden.

17 thoughts on “Hot and Spicy Cheese Crackers

  1. Cheezits have always disappointed me due to their lack of cheesiness (I feel like I have to put cheese on them, which defeats their purpose), so I am totally going to try these out! I bet they’re way cheaper to make than buy too, which is a great bonus.

  2. Oh I am soooo making these!! We love Cheez-its. When the kids aren’t here sometimes we pass up making a mess in the kitchen for a giant frozen iced coffee and Ritz crackers with cheese or peanut butter. One day I think I’llk write a post about that. Haha.

  3. I do like putting Frank’s hot sauce on Cheez-Its, so I’m going to have to resist this temptation and try this out! A couple weeks ago, I cooked up your roasted cauliflower recipe with some homegrown cauliflower. Delish!

  4. I can believe these are great, they sound and look great too! Of course I believe everything you make or doctor up at home is better. It is kind of like you hear people today talk about how they just love store bought Chex Party Mix (YUCK) tastes absolutely nothing like the homemade version from the 1960’s that called for Lea & Perrins Worchestershire Sauce and other ingredients, now that was party mix. I wand to try these crackers! Thanks for posting the recipe, Thank you for your comment on my blog post this past Sunday! You are so kind!

    1. Thanks, I totally agree with the party mix statement. Half of the fun as a kid was picking out what would go in our mix and the flavoring is really different in the store bought version. Almost like a mouth full of salt. Our family still makes party mix and I can be sure someone will send me some around the holidays as a gift which I hate to admit, but it gets devoured in like 2 days. Seriously addictive stuff!

Leave a Reply

