Classic Peach Pie

As you all know, I am a girl from the southern part of the United States, which makes peaches near and dear to my heart. Finally it is peach season where I live now and I was able to whip up a classic peach pie. Simple ingredients, simple process, terrific results, what could be better?

I leave you with another Mary Oliver poem:

The Summer Day

Mary Oliver

Who made the world?
Who made the swan, and the black bear?
Who made the grasshopper?
This grasshopper, I mean-
the one who has flung herself out of the grass,
the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,
who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-
who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.
Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.
Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.
I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

Classic Peach Pie

Classic Peach Pie
Classic Peach Pie

2 Pie Doughs

5 cups peaches, peeled and sliced

grated lemon peel from 1/2 lemon

1 tsp lemon juice

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup corn starch

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425°.

Carefully place one of the crusts onto a 9-inch pie plate.

In a large bowl, add the peaches, lemon peel and lemon juice. Add the sugar, cornstarch, salt and cinnamon. Stir until fruit is well coated. Pour fruit mixture into pie crust. Roll out second disk of dough, as before. Gently place onto the top of the filling in the pie. Pinch top and bottom of dough rounds firmly together. Flute edges using thumb and forefinger or press with a fork. Score the top of the pie with four 2-inch long cuts, so that steam from the cooking pie can escape.

Bake for 10 minutes. Lower temperature to 350° and bake for 40 minutes more.

11 thoughts on “Classic Peach Pie

Leave a Reply

