Cucumber Tomato Salad

I am so happy to see fresh tomatoes coming into to season here. One of my favorite ways to use tomatoes is thrown together in a fresh cucumber tomato salad. I am not reinventing the wheel here but I do feel this recipe has stood the test of time with me, so it is worthy of a mention on my blog.

I leave you with a thought from Lao Tzu. Enjoy!

“We put thirty spokes together and call it a wheel;
But it is on the space where there is nothing that the usefulness of the wheel depends.
We turn clay to make a vessel;
But it is on the space where there is nothing that the usefulness of the vessel depends.
We pierce doors and windows to make a house;
And it is on these spaces where there is nothing that the usefulness of the house depends.
Therefore just as we take advantage of what is, we should recognize the usefulness of what is not.”
~Lao Tzu

Cucumber Tomato Salad

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Grilled Tri Tip topped with Chimichurri
Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Grilled Tri Tip topped with Chimichurri

1 cup tomatoes

½ cucumber, cut on bias

¼ of small onion, very thinly sliced

¼ tsp lemon pepper

4 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp oregano

1/8 cup crumbled feta cheese (optional)

1 small clove of garlic minced

 

Mix all ingredients in large bowl.

6 thoughts on “Cucumber Tomato Salad

  1. I stopped at a produce stand yesterday and bought like 10 or 12 pounds of tomatoes. You definitely have to get ’em while the gettin is good. I planted late so I’m still waiting on mine. Love the feta cheese in this. Actually I love feta cheese in everything, but it is bestest friends with tomatoes and cucumbers. And lamb. :)

Leave a Reply

