Banana Pudding Pie

I am telling you guys right now, this is one of my favorite recipes of all time. I’ve been making it for years as an adaptation for banana pudding.

First off, let me say that I love anything banana flavored and I even like the traditional banana pudding with the vanilla wafers and meringue top, but it was never my favorite. I had a textural problem with the Nilla wafers becoming soggy and honestly, I prefer whipped cream over meringue.

The following recipe uses Vanilla wafers, such as golden oreos or my favorite, Trader Joes Jo Jo’s, as a crust. These cookies hold up and stay crunchy under a layer of fresh bananas and homemade pudding. The pudding filling has such a unique flavor imparted by the sweetened condensed milk, mmmmm…. And then to top it all off, a trick borrowed from banana pudding’s delicious cousin, banana cream pie, a dollop of whipped cream. Hence, we have Banana Pudding Pie.

Try it! Believe me, it is sooooo good.

Banana Pudding Pie

Banana Pudding Pie
Banana Pudding Pie

3 tablespoons cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 2/3 cups water

1 (14-ounce) can Sweetened Condensed Milk (NOT evaporated milk)

3 egg yolks, beaten

2 tablespoons butter or margarine

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 medium bananas, divided

Lemon juice

1 (8- or 9-inch) prepared vanilla cookie crust (recipe follows)

1 cup (1/2 pint) whipping cream, whipped

Instructions

In heavy saucepan, dissolve cornstarch and salt in water; stir in condensed milk and egg yolks. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly on medium heat. Remove from heat; add butter and vanilla. Cool slightly.

Slice 2 bananas; dip in lemon juice and drain. Arrange on bottom of prepared crust. Pour filling over bananas; cover.

Chill 4 hours or until set. Spread top with whipped cream. Slice remaining banana; dip in lemon juice, drain and garnish top of pie. Store leftovers covered in refrigerator.

Vanilla Cookie Crust
21 Vanilla sandwich cookies (such as Golden Oreos)
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

Finely grind cookies in processor. Add butter and process until mixture is evenly moistened. Press crumb mixture onto bottom and up sides of prepared pan to form thin crust.

17 thoughts on “Banana Pudding Pie

  1. I can’t really deal with the fact that I need to make this so bad right now. I have bananas I need to use too…and I was just thinking how I need to find a recipe for them…I am going to have to buy some ingredients tomorrow.

      1. Agh I had to make some coconut strawberry vegan cookies for a party…after that, and once I recover from the sugar, I will make this. I can’t wait. And then yes I’ll transform the taste into words and share it!

  2. Humm I wonder if this will work with almond milk or goats milk? I can substitute the rest easy enough (no gluten or dairy) but wondering which milk will work best. I’m gonna take a crack at it!! Thanks for posting!!

    1. Thanks. There are many recipes on the internet for condensed milk. I would use the goats milk because it would be an animal product and therefore will give a closer product to the original. PLus saying you made homemade condensed goats milk would be bad ass.

  3. Soggy Nilla wafers sorta freak me out, too. Oh! And people here like their banana pudding warm. Did they do that in your version of the South? Because it totally confuses me… Anyway, missed your blog!!! I’m playing catch up and am so thrilled to come home to puddin’ pie :)

Leave a Reply

