Mixed Vinaigrette

Over the past year, with all of the fresh produce available to me, I have become a salad convert. Where I use to cringe at the the thought of a salad, now I delight in the idea of creatively bringing the salad together.

First and foremost are the veggies and fruits available through my CSA and local farmers markets. This week, alongside all the apricots, plums, broccoli, celery, and fresh mixed greens were the first picks of Gravenstein apples and lots and lots of zucchini and squash, not a problem, I love these items. I chose to grill my zucchini giving it a charred smokiness. To round out the succulent smokiness, I used the tart crunchy apple and sweet plum.

When choosing a protein for my salad this week, I chose to heighten the smokiness with bacon and used a Toma cheese which is a semi-hard cheese that has a buttery flavor with a tangy-grassy finish. Had I had walnuts or pecans, I would have roasted those off in the oven to bring out their natural oils  and added them to the salad, alas I did not have any.

All of this information, helps me determine what sort of dressing will be made. With the smokiness from the bacon and zucchini, I knew I needed to counter that with a bright pop and with the tart apple and sweet plum, I knew it didn’t need to be too sweet. I couldn’t decide on a specific vinegar to base my dressing off of, so I mixed them together. Enjoy!

Mixed Vinaigrette

Summer Salad with Mixed Greens, Plum, Gravenstein Apples, Broccoli, Grilled Zucchini, Bacon, and Toma Cheese Topped with Homemade Croutons and Mixed Vinaigrette
Summer Salad with Mixed Greens, Plum, Gravenstein Apples, Broccoli, Grilled Zucchini, Bacon, and Toma Cheese Topped with Homemade Croutons and Mixed Vinaigrette

  • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon brown mustard
  • 1 clove garlic , crushed through a press
  • 3/4 cup olive oil , preferably extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper , to taste
Directions
Combine the balsamic and red wine vinegars, mustard and garlic in a shake-able vessel with a top, such as a mason jar or cruet.  Add the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Shake with top on until the mixture looks well combined. (The dressing can be made up to 1 week ahead, stored in a covered container and refrigerated. Stir well before using.)

 

10 thoughts on “Mixed Vinaigrette

  1. Your dressings are awesome. Putting this at the top of the list for when I re-stock my fridge with perishables. Came home Saturday afternoon and still can’t make myself go grocery shopping. You may have motivated me!!!

Leave a Reply

