Kale Chips

My CSA didn’t fail me last week for sure. We received some delicious items in the box, including a large bunch of kale. Having seen kale chips all over the internet and wordpress, I wanted to try my hand at it too.

For some reason I could wrap my head around a leaf, becoming crispy when oven baked. I was sure it would be limp or not appealing, but I was wrong. It was crispy and salty and snack worthy.

Anyone looking for a more nutritious snack, this would be an excellent choice to play around with seasonings to make it more specific to your tastes. Below is the basic recipe that I used. Enjoy!

Kale Chips

Kale Chips
Kale Chips

  • 12 large kale leaves, rinsed, dried, center ribs and stems removed, and leaves cut into large chips size chunks
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Seasoned Salt, I used Penzey’s Ruth Ann’s Muskego Ave Seasoning

Preheat oven to 250°F. Toss kale with oil in large bowl. Sprinkle with seasoning salt and pepper. Arrange leaves in single layer on 2 large baking sheets. Bake until crisp, about 30 minutes for flat leaves and up to 33 minutes for wrinkled leaves. Transfer leaves to rack to cool.

6 thoughts on “Kale Chips

    1. Yes, kale chips are delicious. I think the low, slow cooking helps with the burning issue. Plus I have no pride when it comes to timers. I must have a timer going or I will burn the heck out of stuff.

Leave a Reply

