Homemade BBQ Potato Chips

As you guys well know, my husband and I are fun loving individuals, we like to hike and go to the beach and pretty much do anything that includes our two big furry pups. Growing up in the monotonous cadence of a small rural town made me yearn to experience as much as possible when I was old enough to make my own decisions. And for the most part, I can look at myself in the mirror and say, “I honored your wishes.”

My husband and I, we are active enough and to look at us, you wouldn’t think that there is this other side to us that we don’t promote, a dark side that comes out pretty much every night…the couch potato side.

I would love to blame it on married life and settling down, but that would be a lie. I have always been a pretty chilled out individual, enjoying the quiet solitude of a good story, be it a good book or feature film or even mind numbing TV.  Being sucked into Anne of Green Gables or the Simpsons or the Babysitters Club series got me through my preteen stage. Later, I would find escape in the flawed characters within Catcher in the Rye, Pulp Fiction, The Tale of Two Cities, and even Roseanne had just enough true grittiness to satiate the angst of a teenagers heart.

In a lot of ways, I could say that I was raised by the flickering lights of the television screen, learning comedic timing and presence in the smiling goofy grin of David Letterman completing his nightly countdown or to never lose hope in the eccentricity of Gene Wilder’s Willy Wonka or the enduring and quiet intelligence of Marge in Fargo and Clarice in The Silence of the Lambs or that your don’t have to be defined by your past through Good Will Hunting or even better, you don’t have to imprisoned by your present through Shawshank Redemption.

Each story, rich and complicated and multi-layered, just like true life. As much as I would like to tell you all that I don’t waste my time watching TV, that would be a lie. Being true to form, everyone has their go to TV watching grub, for me I like to alternate between salty and sweet. Today I share with you a recipe for homemade BBQ potato chips, my favorite type of chips, unless of course I am dipping them and that is a whole ‘nother days discussion. SO if you are like me and are a snacking king or queen in front of a deliciously fascinating story, enjoy!

Homemade BBQ Potato Chips

Homemade BBQ Potato Chips

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground mustard
  • Dash chipotle powder
  • 1-2 teaspoons salt, depending on palate
  • 1 large potato
  • 4 cups ice water
  • Oil for deep-fat frying

Directions

  • In a small bowl, combine the first seven ingredients; set aside. Using a very sharp knife or mandolin, cut potato into very thin slices. Place in a large bowl; add cold water. Soak for 30 minutes.
  • Drain potato; place on paper towels and pat dry. In a deep pot, heat 1-1/2 in. of oil to 375°. Fry potato slices in batches for 1-2 minutes or until golden brown, turning once. Remove with a slotted spoon; drain on paper towels. Immediately sprinkle with seasoning mixture. Store in an airtight container.
19 thoughts on “Homemade BBQ Potato Chips

  1. It sounds like you came through your childhood upheavals with a good head on your shoulders. Not always and easy thing to do. I, too, am a secret couch potato. I have certain shows that I just can’t miss. The Closer (which I am sad to see go), Breaking Bad (I was surprised how much I’m enjoying this show) . . . plus a myriad of others. These chips sound perfect.

  2. I love TV. We watch a lot on itunes and the free streaming sites. I try not to spend too much time…but I love it. I’m pretty much on board with all your shows except Silence of the Lambs (I’m a wuss).
    I’ve never made homemade chips…but I could munch on these feeling a little better since they could be non-GMO potatoes with no hydrogenated oil :-)

  3. FIRST of all, I can’t even believe you made homemade chips. That is serious. SECOND, I thoroughly enjoyed this walk through TV Land. I read Anne of Green Gables, ALLLLLL the Babysitters Club books, and we watched the Simpsons… that show was soooo controversial when I was a kid! It was banned from lots of TV’s on our block. Roseanne was good…. THAT is real life. I have to admit that we were totally into Full House and the old 90210. Can I get a shout out for Fresh Prince?! This was fun. Thank You!

    1. I watched Full House and 90210 with my cousin who adored that show. My version was re-enacting scenes that were totally over the top. She would get so mad at me. And well Fresh Prince… All I have to say is– this is a story all about how my life got flipped-turned upside down and I liked to take a minute just sit down
      there and tell you how I became the prince of a town called Bel-Air…

  4. Now I call that a chip! and best of all the color is just perfect!!!! I absolutely LOVE really brown homemade chips and will clean a bag of store bought out if it has any dark chips in it! HOWEVER, homemade is always the best!

Leave a Reply

