Kale and Chard Southern Style

Most people in life want to feel that they have a purpose. A reason to wake in the morning. For most of my life, I woke with a dutiful regard towards living. Meaning, I woke to do things that maybe I didn’t want to do, but felt obligated to do.

That’s life, sometimes. We all have to do things we don’t want to do. I used to think that what separated adults from the various stages of childhood would be the manner in which we handle such tasks. A baby just wouldn’t do what they didn’t want to do. A young child would pitch a fit and may or may not do said task. A teenager will sulk and possibly become argumentative. A young adult may try negotiation tactics or even avoidance to get out of dealing with things head on.

However, a few years ago, I reached true adulthood. The adulthood where you go to your soul sucking job everyday and you do the best you can do with it and you try not to complain and you wake up and repeat. There were no pats on the back, a truly thankless job, where some mornings I woke thinking that I possibly sold my soul during my sleep to have to live and breathe an existence of such misery. Every one else around me hated their jobs just as much and I couldn’t even bring myself to make close friends with them because the few times we did hang out outside of work, all anyone talked about was how much they hated their jobs and hence, we should have just been at work.

Not to make it seem like all of my past was terrible, there are parts of my past that were wonderful, especially the food parts. I take Kale and Chard from my CSA box and transform them into a southern delicacy. Perfect to eat alongside Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread. Enjoy and wish me luck on my next possible adult transition!

Kale and Chard Southern Style

Kale and Chard- Southern Style
Kale and Chard- Southern Style

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon hot red pepper sauce
  • 1 pound bacon, diced
  • 1 onion, small diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 pound greens, cleaned, and stemmed (collard, chard, kale, turnip, or mustard)
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 TBSP white wine vinegar
  • Granulated sugar

Directions

Wash the greens thoroughly. Remove the stems that run down the center by holding the leaf in your left hand and stripping the leaf down with your right hand. The tender young leaves in the heart don’t need to be stripped. Stack 6 to 8 leaves on top of one another, roll up, and slice into 1/2 to 1-ince thick slices.

Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add bacon and cook until crisp. Add onions and garlic and cook for additional 2 minutes.  Add greens, season with salt and cook for 1 hour over low heat until greens are tender. Add vinegar and a pinch of sugar and cook for 5 more minutes. When done taste and adjust seasoning. Serve with red pepper hot sauce.

 

10 thoughts on “Kale and Chard Southern Style

  1. Congratulations on the interview – sure it will go fine – will hold everything I can hold, even my breath *smile – this looks a bit likeness something we call “brunkål” – brown cabbage, here in Skåne for Christmas. But it’s just white cabbage, syrup and sugar .. beautiful dish – will post the recipe. This looks really good and the ingredients are flavorful too.

Leave a Reply

