A Preserving Lesson: Creamed Corn

I went on the interview for the job I’ve been wanting yesterday and had a second interview today with Human Resources. My first interview was so nerve racking. I wish I could calm down my nerves, but I have yet to find a way. Evidently, I have a good poker face, because I was told that I was scored highly by the interview panel, which is nice to hear, considering how nervous that I was. Multiple interviewers always make my knees weak, but I made it through to the second level and I should hear something by next week, so keep your fingers crossed for me.

Needless, to say I haven’t prepared much food for the blog as I have been focusing on my interviews. However, since we are full force in the midst of corn season, even if it is a little bare here in the US this year, I thought I would give some instructions for preserving and making homemade creamed corn. If you have never had homemade creamed corn, oh my, is it good!

I have always love corn and creamed corn is the best. I am not sure if this is specifically a southern recipe, creaming corn, but it is no matter as I lucky enough to grow up with it and love it.

First off, you need to know how to select a good batch of corn. High quality corn has tender kernels that are milky and well-developed. Kernels should be large enough to be compact on the cob with no space between the rows. Also, the ear should be filled to the tip with no rows of missing kernels.  Kernels that are too large will be chewy and pasty like dough. They should be just firm enough that slight pressure will puncture the kernel, releasing the milky-white juice. If juice is watery, the sweet corn is not ready. When buying sweet corn in the husk, look for a bright green color, snug husks and dark brown silk. The keys to “good eating” when it comes to sweet corn are to harvest at peak ripeness and store properly–if it can’t be eaten right away. However, the sooner it is used, the sweeter it will be! Canning, freezing or drying sweet corn will extend shelf life and provide your family with corn throughout the year. Corn can be kept frozen for up to 10 months and 2 medium ears of corn equals 1 cup of kernels.

Next, we will discuss creaming corn. You will need to husk and discard silk. Cut and scrape the corn from the cob (I use a corn cutter for this. These can be found at most hardware stores in the canning section). Place the cut corn in a large pot and constantly stir over medium heat for about 10 minutes or until it thickens. Package into 2-3 cup servings, seal and freeze.

 

Creamed Corn
Creamed Corn

To cook corn after frozen:

2 cups creamed corn

1/4 cup butter

1 tbsp sugar

1/4 cup milk

1/2 tsp salt

pepper to taste

In a large skillet, melt butter. Add corn. Cook over medium heat 5 minutes. Add sugar, milk, and seasonings. Simmer approximately 10 minutes or until excess liquid has been absorbed.

11 thoughts on “A Preserving Lesson: Creamed Corn

  1. Freezing corn on the cob. What a great idea! I would never think of doing that. Looking forward to the farmer’s market tomorrow to buy EXTRA corn to freeze. :)

Leave a Reply

