Mushroom Rice

Well it is finally cooling down here. I am sure that I will probably be wishing for the warmer weather sooner than later, but for now I am glad I can get back in the kitchen without sweating up a storm.

The past few weeks, I have been relegated to granola bars, yogurt, fresh salads, delicious bites of cheese stolen in front of the cool glow of the open refrigerator door. All to keep my tiny apartment at a livable temperature. It hasn’t been a horrible existance by any means and my pants have thanked me by becoming looser and looser with a tad bit of weight loss, but let’s face it I love to cook, so I am happy to be able to get back in the kitchen.

Tonight, my husband manned the grill with some delicious chicken and I made a Mushroom Rice . This rice was a dish that showed up at quite a few family get togethers when I was coming up in the southern part of the United States. THe mushroom and soy sauce broth mix together a very beautiful nourishing umami flavor.  I have added some carrots and peas to bring in some more veggie deliciousness, but use whatever is in your kitchen. Anyway, enjoy everyone!

Mushroom Rice

Mushroom Rice
Mushroom Rice

1 celery stick, diced
1/2 cup onion, diced and sauteed until carmelized
2 TBSP bell pepper, diced
3-4 dried black mushrooms, sliced
1 cup rice, rinsed well
2 tsp soy sauce
1 1/2 cup broth
1 carrot, diced

In a large pot add the broth and soy sauce. Bring to a boil, add rice and vegetables. Simmer covered for 20-30 minutes or until rice is tender.

6 thoughts on “Mushroom Rice

  1. I’m welcoming the cool down (and the RAIN!! :)) as well! Unlike yourself however, I’ve been avoiding heating up my apartment by picking up tacos as my favorite Mexican restaurant. So my pants are not thanking me! Actually, I think they hate me! ;) The rice looks delicious!!

  2. Long time … no see, have missed you, by the way I have sent you an email …
    I love everything about this rice … not a fan of plain boiled rice. So this I will do soon. Great to have you back.

Leave a Reply

