Wild Rice with Leeks and Peppers

I have been on a diet for the past 2 and a half weeks. I have lost five pounds which is pretty good for me. I have had to say no to a lot of things and a lot of people trying to pawn off all their leftover holiday goodies at work. It will pay off though when I am at my goal weight in a few months. In the meantime, I am getting creative with some new ingredients. Today I present to you my take on wild rice, full of flavor and fiber. Yum!

 

Wild Rice with Leeks and Peppers

Roasted Chicken on a bed of Wild Rice with Leek and Peppers
Roasted Chicken on a bed of Wild Rice with Leek and Peppers

1 cup wild rice

1 3/4 cup stock

1 leek, cleaned and diced into 1/2 inch slices

1/2 a bell pepper, finely diced

1 tsp Salt

Pepper

In medium saucepan, bring 1 3/4 cup stock, salt, pepper and rice to a boil. Add leek and pepper.Cover with a tight lid.  Reduce heat to low simmer and cook 45 minutes. Remove from heat (with lid on!) and let steam for 10 minutes. Fluff with fork.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wild Rice with Leeks and Peppers

Leave a Reply

